From the date of its establishment to Nov. 30, 1962, the Parole Board reviewed 30,619 cases, including applications for parole and automatic parole review, and granted 8,190 paroles. During the same period, the Board revoked 754 paroles, which is a failure rate of about 9 p.c. related to the number of paroles granted.

Section 5.—Police Forces

The Police Forces of Canada are organized under three groups: (1) the Federal Force, which is the Royal Canadian Mounted Police; (2) Provincial Police Forces—the Provinces of Ontario and Quebec have organized Provincial Police Forces but all other provinces engage the services of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police to perform parallel functions within their borders; and (3) Municipal Police Forces—each urban centre of reasonable size maintains its own police force, or engages the services of the provincial police, under contract, to attend to police matters within its boundaries.

A new method of reporting police statistics, known as the Uniform Crime Reporting System, commenced on Jan. 1, 1962. The system was developed by the Dominion Bureau of Statistics in co-operation with the Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police, working through their committee on the Uniform Recording of Police Activities. The Uniform Crime Reporting System will allow for the eventual publication of more complete and meaningful data. For this reason police statistics are not carried in this edition of the Year Book.

Subsection 1.—The Royal Canadian Mounted Police

The Royal Canadian Mounted Police is a civil force maintained by the Federal Government and was established in 1873 as the North-West Mounted Police for service in what was then the North-West Territories. In recognition of its services, it was granted the use of the prefix "Royal" by King Edward VII in 1904. Its sphere of operations was expanded in 1918 to include all of Canada west of Port Arthur and Fort William and in 1920 it absorbed the Dominion Police, its headquarters was transferred from Regina to Ottawa and its title was changed to Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

The Force is under the control of the Minister of Justice and is headed by a Commissioner who holds the rank and status of a Deputy Minister. Officers are commissioned by the Crown and are selected from the non-commissioned ranks. The Force has complete jurisdiction in the enforcement of the federal statutes. By arrangement between the federal and provincial governments it enforces the provincial statutes and the Criminal Code in all provinces exclusive of Ontario and Quebec and under special agreement it polices some 120 municipalities. It is the sole police force in the Yukon and Northwest Territories, where it also performs various administrative duties on behalf of certain departments of the Federal Government. It maintains liaison officers in London and Washington and represents Canada in the International Criminal Police Organization which has headquarters in Paris.

Of the Force's 17 divisions, 12 are actively engaged in the work of law enforcement, as are some 41 subdivisions and 625 detachments. The five remaining divisions are "Headquarters", "Depot" and "N", which are maintained as training centres, and "Marine" and "Air", which support the operations of the land divisions. A teletype system links the widespread divisional headquarters with the administrative centre at Ottawa and a network of fixed and mobile radio units operates within the provinces. Focal point of the Force's criminal identification work is the Headquarters Identification Branch; its services, together with those of the 40 divisional and subdivisional units and the three Crime Detection Laboratories, are available to police forces throughout Canada. The Force operates the Canadian Police College at which Force members and selected representatives of other Canadian and foreign police forces may study the latest advances in the fields of crime prevention and detection.